How to Take Care of Yourself (After Crying)

I wanted to write an entry on how to take care of yourself if you’ve had the kind of day I’ve been having a few of lately – days that include a lot of crying, no appetite, no willpower to do anything. So let’s just jump into it.

Firstly, if you’ve been crying for a while, or hours, or on and off the whole day, it’s very important to hydrate. Try to fill up a bottle of water and drink that, not all at once, just focus on getting the water down. And then fill it up again so that you have it on hand for when you get thirsty. I can usually feel that my mouth is dry, which I guess is related to having to breathe through my mouth because my nose is all blocked off. Green tea is also a good way to hydrate, if/when you get tired of water. Adding essential oils to your water is also good, especially citrus oils.

Secondly, wash your face. My face gets stiff and sticky from tears, and I like to wash it, remove any makeup that might be left on my face, and apply moisturizer. It helps me feel a little more human.

Thirdly, your nose is probably sore from having to blow it a lot. I like to apply a cream called Mentholatum, it contains menthol which is cooling on the skin, and it helps relieve pain and soreness from all the harsh paper – I am the kind of person that no matter what kind of tissue I use my nose will get sore so I don’t bother spending money on expensive tissue because it doesn’t work for me. The menthol also helps open up the nose; mine tends to be blocked for a long time after I’ve stopped crying.

Brush your hair. Get all those tangles out, and feel a little more alive. The goal here is for us to move forward, yes? And feeling a bit better about yourself, regardless of the situation, helps. I also like to put on a bit of makeup – some concealer, powder, and mascara. It covers up redness without looking overdone, and makes me feel like I look a little bit less of a mess, if nothing else.

Get some fresh air. It feels cooling on the skin – I always feel I get a bit warm when crying. Open your window, or go for a walk, or do both. Moving around can help. If you have a favorite park, go for a walk. Or go visit some shops in town, buy a new book or something else that you want. Buy yourself some flowers and put them in a room – not only do they look (and potentially smell) nice; plants also help with oxygen and stuff.

It’s also important to make sure your body gets the nutrients it needs. You need to eat proper food. That is not to say that comfort food can’t be proper food – earlier this week I ate avocado and tomato on toast for dinner because I didn’t feel like eating but I know that’s something I enjoy and that’s also good for my body. That being said, I did go to the store and bought pick n mix not long after. But, as they say, everything in moderation.

Lastly, I’d like to say that there is no shame in just taking an ibuprofen and going to bed. I often get headaches after crying, and I try not to overdo it on the medication side of things, but my doctor told me there’s no need to be as careful as I’ve been, because it won’t hurt me short term. Sometimes, a painkiller is just what I need to get my body to relax enough to get me a good night’s sleep. Which should not be underestimated! A good night’s sleep is important when it comes to every aspect of life, and factors like the temperature in the room, light noise, scents etc all affect these. It’s still pretty cold in Norway, so I open the vent instead of the window and leave the heating on low, and close my blinds. There’s not much noise around me so I don’t do anything to affect that, except if I’m feeling extremely bad, then I’ll put on Harry Potter on audiobook on my phone and fall asleep to that (I recommend using an app that let’s you set a sleep timer, otherwise it’ll probably wake you up at some point, which isn’t what we want here). As for scents, I like to apply lavender essential oil on my wrists and neck; it’s calming and it smells wonderful. I also have a small tin can of broken up Yankee Candle wax melts in lemon-lavender that I open up and leave on my bedside table before bed (I like to put the lid on whenever I’m not ‘using’ this, otherwise I can’t smell it as much, because I’m smelling it all the time).

So those were my tips for making yourself feel better and taking care of yourself after a round of crying. I hope this is able to help some people, somewhere in the world. If you have any additional tips, please leave them in a comment, I would love to hear!

~ Julie

Leave a Reply

