DIY: Makeup Setting Spray

Good afternoon, dear readers! Today I’m going to share with you my recipe for homemade makeup setting spray! 

Here’s what you’ll need:

– Water. I recommend bottled water. In Norway we have very very very clean water, like ridiculously clean water, so I use tap water, but if you live anywhere else I would recommend using bottled water. 

– Glycerine. It makes stuff stick to it, which is what you want, you want the powder to stick to it so it’ll last longer. 

– A spray bottle. I got mine at H&M, but you can get them at any drugstore or anywhere that sells these kits of travel sized bottles. 

This is optional, but I also added essential oils. I’ve seen people add perfume, which I can’t imagine being good for your skin at all, and since I have sensitive skin on my face I opted for essential oils that can help instead of harm my skin. 

Frankincense essential oil relieves stress, and it’s anti-aging and fights wrinkles. It can also reduce acne, decrease appearance of scars, and help with eczema, among other things, which is something I struggle with. 

Lavender essential oil also reduces anxiety and emotional stress, it restores skin complexion and reduces acne, slows aging, improves eczema and psoriasis, and alleviates headaches. So the two do many of the same things. Not to mention they smell wonderful!

Here’s what you do:

Fill the spray bottle up 1/10 of the way with glycerin. Fill it all the way up with water. Add 4 drops of each essential oil. Screw the cap back on. Shake it up good. 

Your setting spray is now ready for use! 

Tip: keep your spray in the refrigerator for a cooling effect on your skin! 

Disclaimer: I found the water and glycerin recipe on the Internet, done by several YouTubers and written about in articles. I added the essential oils based on my existing knowledge of them and what they do. 

Let me know if you try this and how it works for you! 

Do you have a different recipe for homemade makeup setting spray? I would love it if you would let me know! 

~ Julie 

Leave a Reply

