Post-Holiday Feelings

Good Friday, everyone!

I’m back from my mini holiday. which you may or may not have picked up on me going on, depending on how closely you read my blog. I left last Saturday, and I came back home yesterday (actually this morning at 2am).

Today has been weird. I usually feel weird the morning after coming home from visiting my boyfriend, but this was different, because it was our first holiday away together. We’ve stayed in hotels in London before, and he came to visit me last summer and we stayed in my parents’ house while they were on vacation, but this was our first time going away together, properly.

Being in a long distance relationship isn’t easy. You’d think it gets easier with time, and the being apart thing somewhat does, but the going our separate ways at an airport never does. It’s the worst feeling in the world, going home but not with the one you love. We’ve been doing this for a year and a half now, and I’m getting really tired of it. I just wish we could live together so that at the end of a holiday like this we’d be going home together, not to separate homes. But with how our situations are now, neither of us are able to move so we’ll just have to keep doing what we do and cope with the suckiness of it all.

This post is a little bit all over the place, because that’s how I feel today. I don’t feel like I’ve slept enough. I want a drink. I miss Spain, and Norway is snowy. I feel restless and exhausted at the same time. I miss my boyfriend. I’m having post-holiday depression. I know I need to get back to normal, I have a month to finish my thesis and I have almost everything left to write…

I want to write a post about Alicante later, when I feel a little more normal than I do at this point. But it’s coming!

I want to start blogging more regularly, and in doing so I want to do something my boyfriend suggested, which is this: For a week, I will not post a single thing. Everything I write will be scheduled, a post a day; that way I will create a backlog. It also helps that I have a list of things I want to blog about, that I’ve just written as the topics pop into my head when I don’t have time to write the post itself. Then I will try to keep the schedule going so that I will be posting once a day, and we’ll see how that goes!

How is everyone doing?

~ Julie

Leave a Reply

