A Busy Couple of Weeks!

Good afternoon, readers! It’s been almost a week since I last posted, and I apologize for my absence. I just thought I’d take some time to explain what’s going on in my usually not-ever-busy life.

Last Friday I was in uni – I had to come, someone brought cake! Then I had about a dozen errands to run due to being away for almost a week beforehand. I bought a new pillow! And let me tell you – a medium high hotel pillow, it’s the width of my bed, it is like sleeping on a cloud! I had planned to relax and maybe do some thesis work over the weekend, but that didn’t happen as I got a call from work asking if I could come on short notice, something to do with a mix-up of who was supposed to work and also someone being sick, so I had to fill in but yay money!

Then there’s this week… Monday started with me having to juggle two laptops and a USB stick in order to get an antivirus program downloaded, that was a nightmare… but I made it to uni at around 1pm! And I stayed until 6.30. On my way into my apartment, I met one of my roommates who informed me he was leaving to pick up his girlfriend from the airport so she’s staying with us for a week. I can’t complain – my boyfriend was here for two weeks in January (but the first week we don’t count because my roommates hadn’t arrived yet so it wasn’t overcrowded). Yesterday, that’s Tuesday, I got to uni at around 10pm and stayed until 6.40 and then walked home with a friend who lives close-by. Yesterday was a very good day, I got a lot of stuff done! But, as I’ve mentioned on here before, a productive day for me usually results in an unproductive one the following day, which is why I’m writing this right now. Yesterday I wrote 1000+ words on my thesis – today I’ve got less than 300. But I don’t want to go home, I don’t feel like I can be lazy, because I have to exploit the time I have to work while I can due to how the rest of the week and next week look:

Tomorrow I have an appointment with the blood bank at 1.30. That means I need to get work done before 1pm – which in all likelihood means I’ll not be going to uni tomorrow, but working from home for maybe two or three hours beforehand; I also need to make sure I eat two decent meals before going down there… And in the evening I’m supposed to be going to a social thing with JEF (Young European Federalists) where a woman is supposed to talk about EU for a little while and then we eat pizza and drink beer (or not, since I’ll be donating blood earlier in the day)… but we’ll see how I feel. On Friday there’s girls’ night at a friend’s house at 6pm, which means I need to study earlier in the day and go home and eat and possibly get my wine if I decide I want to drink that. And on Saturday I’m going out of town at 2pm so I need to have packed and bought the things I still need to buy before Saturday which, with the rest of my week, means I probably need to do that today! Which makes me want to just leave uni right now to get that stuff done… but I feel like I need to work on my thesis since I’ll be away from Saturday until next Thursday and I have so little time left to do things!

Last week I wrote about how I feel like I don’t have enough time to finish my thesis in time because my supervisor wants each chapter by the end of the month and there’s no time to work on the feedback he gives on the previous chapter (at least I think I wrote about this…)… Yeah. All the work I’ve done this week has been on the literature review chapter I sent in at the end of January; I’ve not worked on the methodology chapter I sent in last week at all, and I’ve not started on the chapter that’s supposed to be due at the end of this month either! I’ll have a week when I get back from my trip… I don’t understand how I’m supposed to be done with my entire thesis by the end of April! Well, it’s due on the 15th of May, but I need to send the whole thing in to my supervisor, work on the feedback he gives me, and send it to print by the 10th or 11th, since the 15th is a Monday and they don’t work weekends! I’ve no idea how I’m supposed to finish on time, but I just have to try, and if I can’t then I can’t… It’s my supervisor who’ll be the one to tell me whether he thinks I need to take more time, and I do want a good grade, but I also just want to finish…

Anyway, that’s my rant of the day! How’s everyone doing this week?

~ Julie

Leave a Reply

