Sweater DIY

Hello everyone!

I don’t know why I’ve started writing that, I think it’s because I’ve watched a lot of YouTube the past couple of days and everyone always starts off their videos saying some version of that… Anyway, it’s kind of rude to start a post without saying hello, isn’t it? It doesn’t really invite to interaction, when it’s so very article like… Or what do you think?

As I mentioned in my last post, I did a little bit of a DIY project today (Sunday), and it was inspired by this video by Jordan Lipscombe on YouTube:

I am the kind of person who doesn’t really have one set style when it comes to clothing. I wake up wanting to wear skinny jeans and plaid shirts and converse and heavy eye makeup one day and the next day I want flowy dresses and braids and natural makeup and heels. Like Jordan said in this video, it doesn’t matter, just be yourself. And that’s what I try to do. At the end of the video she shows herself cutting a hoodie into a cropped hoodie because that was more her style, and I absolutely love that she did that.

Over the past two years or so I’ve sort of become obsessed with cleaning out my closet. For many many years, as long as I can remember, I have been the kind of person who will only get rid of things if they don’t fit or are worn out/ripped et cetera. But lately I’ve changed into the kind of person who doesn’t want to keep more than what’s absolutely necessary. I’m not talking full on minimalist here, I do own a hell of a lot of stuff, as was proven to me when I went to pack up and move in December, but the way I see it there is no point in keeping things that you don’t use. And I’m not talking about formal wear that you’ll wear to specific occasions only, I have a lot of that myself, but when it comes to normal every-day clothes, I don’t see a reason to keep stuff that you don’t use. Better to donate it to the good-will or salvation army or whatever there is in your area that accepts used clothes that’ll either resell it here or ship it to other countries that need it. And trust me – literally everything can be donated. If you go to a thrift shop, you will see all kinds of clothes including bras, socks, and underwear. I only ever throw away worn out stuff that cannot be repurposed, such as holey socks or underwear that’s been through the washer/dryer weekly for years and no longer resembles anything. But even ripped jeans and t-shirts can be repurposed – here, we have donation boxes that will accept these kinds of materials that’ll be made into cloths or cut up and woven into stuff. My point here is: Reduce, Reuse, Recycle.

Okay. Now that that’s out of the way. I’ve been thinking about cleaning out my closet all week. And what I usually do is I get a bag and I just start putting things in it, and then I leave it for a couple of weeks or sometimes longer, and if I don’t miss any of the items in there and I haven’t gone back to get anything out, then I put the bag in a donation box. But there are still some items that I struggle to get rid of… In particular, I have three sweaters that are almost identical – all grey hoodie-material (but without hoods), one has blue flowers on it, another has lace/crochet material on the shoulders and a zipper in the back, the last is just plain grey. And I don’t wear the much because I don’t really like the shape of them… They’re kind of short, loose/wide, a bit 1990s looking really. And I don’t feel like I look nice which makes me not feel comfortable either. So after watching Jordan’s video earlier today, I decided to get out the plain one and attack it with a pair of scissors.

Here is what it looked like before…

img_0257

And here is what it looked like on me:

img_0259

Not the prettiest sight, right? Please ignore my mirror – I didn’t realize it was dirty until the sun came through my windows but by then it was too late to retake the before-shots with a clean mirror! I also only have that one mirror in my current room, and no full-length mirror, which kinda sucks, but I’m only living here temporarily… Also very difficult to get a flattering angle without getting the sink in the way!

So basically, what I did was cut off all the ends. I cut off he (not so) elastic part at the bottom, as well as the cuffs, and the neckline. The end result looks something like this:

img_0264

Excuse the finger! This phone is a lot smaller than I’m used to…

img_0262

And again… I’m sorry, you guys! I am not a bad photographer when it comes to scenery and stuff like that, but I am definitely NOT a blog photographer at all – my previous blog was anonymous, and the one before that was basically just documenting my exchange year for people at home to read, so the pictures didn’t matter much. If I do this again in the future, I will make sure to take better pictures, I promise! And yes, I know my jeans are ripped on the inside of my thigh – that’s where all my jeans rip, but my not-ripped ones are currently hang-drying so these were the only ones I had!

So the end-result, then, is a loose sweater with cut-off ends, that is a lot more comfortable to wear, and I think can be styled up, if you know what I mean. What I would probably do is wear this with my not-ripped black jeans and boots; a necklace that’s either a longer chain on the inside of the sweater, or a choker of some kind (which I don’t actually have but I think it could look good with this); and some makeup, let’s say my normal full-face routine, brown/neutral eyeshadow, a bit of liner, and a red lipstick. And I would actually do something about my hair, which I also didn’t do for these pictures – maybe some waves, or a top knot even.

But yeah. Now this sweater is one that I might actually use! We’ll see what I end up doing with the other two… I’ll probably cut off the bottom on the lace one, I don’t know about the one with the blue flowers yet… I also have a pair of sweatpants I want to cut the legs off of, around knee height, or just above the knee, for sweatshorts!

Anyone else into altering the appearance of their clothes? Done anything cool? Let me know! šŸ˜€

~ Julie

Leave a Reply

