(Social) Media

I sometimes wonder what I look like to others. What they would think if they saw me. Right now, I’m on the couch, and I’ve spent the entire night on my laptop and on my phone.

She must be lonely, I bet people would say if they were to look through my windows. She must not have anything better to do tonight.

When in actuality, I’m spending my night like this by choice, on purpose. True, I had no other things to do, but even if I had been invited somewhere I would probably have said no unless it was someone really close to me, someone important.

Social media. Social media. Just because I’m not physically hanging out with someone, doesn’t mean I’m not spending time with them. It’s not like I spend all the time I’m on my phone playing solitaire. I’m being social. “On the line” as an old woman once said.

I may be on the couch by myself. But my mind is with friends.

Leave a Reply

